Sweeney Todd: The Demon Barber of Fleet Street (2007) – Should I Watch It?

Sit down and prepare yourself for the closest shave you will ever know.

Sweeney Todd: The Demon Barber of Fleet Street is dark musical directed by Tim Burton that was released in 2007. Like most Burton movies it is a rather grey-looking film, with eccentric characters, and an abundance of gothic imagery.

It stars Johnny Depp as Sweeney Todd, a bleak and vindictive hairdresser that seeks revenge for the past injustices that was inflicted upon him, and Helena Bonham Carter as Mrs Lovett, his psychotic accomplice. Together they sing, dance, and murder their way through the story.

oie_16161415dOLC2cSL

Damn it, woman. Can’t you see I want to shave.

Of course they are not the only ones that get to show of their singing talent. Alan Rickman and Sacha Baron Cohen also get their time in the spotlight. Though not necessarily the best singers in the world, they perform surprisingly well.

The songs, much like the story, are sinister and dark. If you, like me, have a somewhat darker sense of humour they are quite enjoyable and will bring a smile to your face. Even on repeat viewings. Well, that is except for “I feel you, Johanna”, which will hunt you in your dreams. Pray that it does not get stuck it in your head, like what happened to me.

Sweeney Todd

Service with a smile.

The gothic imagery not only emphasises the setting Burton is trying to create, it also matches the degenerated mind of the main character. That this is intentional is made apparent during the two flashback and flash-forward scenes. These scenes depict better times and show much more colour than the rest of the film, though the past still outshines the future – meaning that no matter how bright his future will be he will forever remain scarred by the events that have transpired in the past.

Sweeney Todd: The Demon Barber of Fleet Street is both a really interesting musical as well as a very entertaining film. Depp and Bonham Carter have great chemistry and easily lead to viewer from song to song. Just do not expect anything cheerful.

Yes, watch it.

Hi guys, I hope you enjoyed reading this review. If you have any comments or suggestions on what I should watch next let me know in the comment section below. And don’t forget to subscribe for more spoiler free movie reviews.

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

2 responses to “Sweeney Todd: The Demon Barber of Fleet Street (2007) – Should I Watch It?”

  1. fullfaze says :

    Great post. I am a new member of WordPress and I really need your help.Please check out my website
    https://rratedreviews.wordpress.com
    And leave a comment suggesting what you want me to improve and change and what you didn’t like.The comment will be very important to me.But you should bear in mind that the site is new and I didn’t have the time to upload a lot of posts

    Like

  2. alexdneagoe says :

    I think I saw this one some time ago, but I don’t remember much about it. Maybe I should re-watch it.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

