100th Post & Liebster Award

Hello you, Remco here. Normally I do not write to you directly, but today is a special day: this is the 100th entry of The Silver Screen Savant! I want to thank you for being such an awesome person. I started writing this blog last year, but never really expected to actually stick around. But you, and the rest of the community, have been incredible and I truly love discussing movies and whatnot with you guys and girls. For this you have my sincerest thanks.

Because of this milestone I wanted to write about something else and wouldn’t you know it, two particularly awesome people nominated me for a Liebster Award. The ever insightful R.L. Terry from The R.L. Terry ReelView, and master poet / globetrotter Jeroen Admiraal from A Sky of Books and Movies, were both so very kind to nominate me for this prestigious community award. If you enjoy my blog be sure to check out theirs as well.

So what is this Liebster thing, you might be thinking. Well, the Liebster Award is an award for bloggers. It helps to discover new blogs and to build a sense of community in the blogging world! Also it allows me to ramble on about things that aren’t movies!

Okay, so here are the rules:

Thank the blogger(s) who nominated you

  • Answer the 11 questions the blogger gives you
  • Nominate 11 bloggers that you think are deserving of the award
  • Let the bloggers know you nominated them
  • Give them 11 questions of your own

But here is the thing; this is not my first rodeo. Last January the lovely Katherine form A Young Writer’s Notebook nominated me as well. I wrote a reply to her nomination that you can find here.

Since R.L. Terry nominated me first, I will first answer his questions:

What are your top five favourite movies?
Top Five questions are always difficult to answer, but I put some serious thought in it, and at this point in time I would say this is my top five. Over time this might change, but these are all films I heavily recommend.

Nr. 5. The Usual Suspects
Nr. 4. Lucky Number Slevin
Nr. 3. Fight Club
Nr. 2. Jurassic Park
Nr. 1. León

Select your top two favourite movies: why are they so special to you?
I love Jurassic Park because it pretty much visualised what I imagined what dinosaurs looked when I was a kid. And now as an adult, even though I know that contemporary science shows them looking differently, I still feel that dinosaurs should look this way.

Movies are spectacular things that can bring up al kinds of emotions. Even to the point that movies become something more: they become experiences. And the first time I ever felt a movie became an experience was when I watched León as a kid. I was enthralled with it. And you know what they say; your first will always hold a special place in your heart.

Why did you start blogging?
Last year I had a temporary job at a media company that shot movies and TV series. I have always been a movie-lover, so it was great to be surrounded by like-minded individuals. Both professionally and personally, it was pretty much all that we talked about. While hyped on this buzz my good friend Jeroen, yes the very one from A Sky of Books and Movies, convinced me to put my thought to paper, and The Silver Screen Savant was born.

What is your favourite theme park and/or attraction, and why?
It is a toss up between Disneyland Paris and Movie Park Germany. I think Disneyland wins, but mostly because I visited it around Christmas on a day that it was nearly deserted. I was able to enjoy all of the Disney Christmas magic while never having to wait in line. I couldn’t have asked for a better experience.

And my favourite attraction is the Rock ‘n Roller Coaster, it is not be the best roller coaster, but you just cannot beat that name. Also, every roller coaster should have Aerosmith pumping through the speakers.

What are your top five favourite television (or the equivalent) shows?
This is even harder than movies, and required even more thinking.

Nr. 5. F.R.I.E.N.D.S.
Nr. 4. Game of Thrones
Nr. 3. House M.D.
Nr. 2. Sherlock
Nr. 1. Blackadder

If money were no object, where would you like to go on your next vacation?
Everywhere. But that is an easy cop-out, so I will choose the holiday that I still want to do, but is really expensive: South Africa. There are more expensive countries, but there are some pretty crazy things you can do here. Fly in a jetfighter, scuba diving with great sharks, going on safari, and tons of other stuff.

What is your spirit animal, and why do you identify with that one?
After much thought, I have come to the conclusion that my spirit animal is a panda. To be more specific, an affectionate, but slight obnoxious, baby panda named Steve. I asked Steve why he was my spirit animal, but he ignored me and stuffed his face with some bamboo. Bloody prick. Wish I had a cool spirit animal like a tiger or an eagle. But no, I got this tiny useless thing that only knows how to eat, sleep, and fart. #FML

Which Golden Girl are you, and why?
I had to google to find out what a Golden Girl was, so yeah, no favourite.

Who is your favourite vocal artist and why?
Mikael Åkerfeldt, the only singer in the entire world I can listen to that uses grunting as part of this singing shtick. Not exactly my type of music, but this man can definitely perform.

What is your favourite Broadway musical?
I have, unfortunately, never visited a Broadway musical.

What is your dream car?
For contemporary cars I would say the Aston Martin Vanquish Volante, for classic cars I would say the Jaguar XK140 Roadster. They are both spectacularly beautiful cars.

Now for the questions laid down by Jeroen:

Do you prefer a shower or a bath?
I am rather tall, so bathtubs are often too short and/or uncomfortable for me. Shower wins by default.

Have you ever met a famous actor or actress?
Yes, I’ve met a bunch. For professional reasons though.

Do you consider yourself a talented dancer?
Yes. But the rest of the world does not. My friends regularly call me the whitest guy on the dance floor. I could be at a global albino conference, but when I bust out my moves, I will be the whitest guy around.

Have you ever skinny-dipped before?
No, I am afraid all my naked adventures have remained waterproof.

What is your birthstone?
A beautiful blue sapphire, or the pebble down the road. Who’s to say?

What movie, no matter how many times you watch it, makes you cry?
I am afraid I have never cried for a movie, but if I would have, it would have been to All Dogs Go To Heaven. Don’t leave me Charlie, never leave me!

What is your favourite YouTube channel?
There are a bunch of creative and talented content creators that all require recognition for their amazing work such as Jeremy Jahns, Chris Stuckmann, YourMovieSucks, Red Letter Media, and Team Four Star. But my favourite channel at the moment is Mr Sunday Movies.

Are you a person who sleeps for a long time or rises early?
I rather sleep long, but I often find myself awake early.

What is your favourite holiday?
This is really hard, I have had several amazing holidays in exotic and weird places with a bunch of great people. But my favourite one is I guess my trip to Austria, Thailand, Vietnam, Cambodia, and Laos.

Are you a horror movie fan?
Not really. I have seen few horror movies compared to other genres.

And finally, describe what you think of my blog.
It is rubbish, you fraud hack. I have read more inspiring messages on the walls of public bathrooms!

Nah, I am only joking. Your blog is great! You actually jump in the movie and reflect on the underlying topics and messages. And you explain everything in a very thorough and colourful way. Reading your blog always leaves me feeling a bit more sophisticated.

My nominees are:

Alex from Alex D. Neagoe
George from What George Has Watched
Vinnieh from Vinnieh
Matt from Matt and his Cats
Katherine from A Young Writer’s Notebook

I challenge these people to answer the following questions:

  • If you would write a movie, what would it be about?
  • If they would make a movie about you, what would the title be?
  • If they would make a movie about you, whom would you like to play you?
  • What is your favourite video game?
  • Where is Waldo?
  • Who is your favourite superhero?
  • Penguin or polar beer?
  • If you come home after a long and exhausting day, what cheers you up the most?
  • Use a metaphor to describe Donald Trump’s hair.
  • What is your favourite ice cream flavour?
  • And let’s finish with a classic; cats or dogs?

And again a big thank you to everyone for being so great and supportive. Stay awesome.

Cheers,
Remco

Tags: , , , , ,

2 responses to “100th Post & Liebster Award”

  1. vinnieh says :

    Congrats on both your 100th post and the award. And thanks for the nomination, it is very much appreciated.

    Liked by 1 person

Trackbacks / Pingbacks

  1. My Twelfth Liebster Award – vinnieh - April 4, 2016

Leave a Reply

