Creed (2016) – Should I Watch It?

Intro to… Creed
A younger and blacker Rocky punches people in the face.

The Plot
Boxing legend Apollo Creed couldn’t keep it in his pants, and as a result bastard child Adonis Johnson (Michael B. Jordan) was born. He grew up to be a feisty kid, always getting in fights. He takes after his dad and it did not take long for him to get interested in boxing himself.

One problem though, nobody wanted to train him. That is until he finds former champion and living legend Rocky Balboa (Sylvester Stallone). Balboa is hesitant at first, but he eventually caves and together they train to turn Adonis into the best. Like no one ever was.

Should I Watch It?
Before we begin, I have a confession to make. I have not seen any of the Rocky movies, and I have a minimal interest in boxing. So this review will be from the perspective of someone that has no knowledge on the subject whatsoever.

Right, now that this is clear, let us begin. Creed is a sports drama written and directed by Ryan Coogler, who is my age and incidentally makes me wonder what I have been doing with my life so far. It stars up-and-comer Michael B. Jordan and veteran Sylvester Stallone.

The story focuses much more on drama than it does on boxing. It is about a boy that grew up without his parents, orphaned at an early age, and that lashes out to deal with his emotions and frustrations. More so than a boxing movie, Creed is about a man that learns to accept himself for who he is. He works hard, and in doing so proves that he can rise from the shadow of his father and become his own man.

Obviously there is boxing involved as well. And as a person that has no knowledge on or interest in boxing, I thought these parts were pretty darn awesome and engaging. The fights are really intense. The cinematography has everything to do with this. These scenes are dynamic and the camera keeps you right in the action. It almost feels as if you are standing inside the ring yourself.

Stallone is not really known for his talent as an actor, but in this he puts down a stellar performance. He does not simply reprise the role of Rocky Balboa as a side character; he is an integral part of the story. Jordan also does a great job. His character is complex and interesting, and really struggles with his own identity. He is not simply a guy that wants to punch people in the face.

I really did not know what to expect from Creed. I went in with an open mind and got blown away. It has a great story, interesting characters, superb acting, and is one of the most engaging movies I have seen in a long while. I highly recommend it.

Yes, watch it.

Hi guys, I hope you enjoyed reading this review. If you have any comments or suggestions on what I should watch next let me know in the comment section below.

Tags: , , , , , , ,

3 responses to “Creed (2016) – Should I Watch It?”

  1. intrepidmuses says :

    I was hesitant to give this movie a chance…I think I will check it out!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. moviemeal says :

    Delighted to hear someone who had little interest in the franchise enjoyed it so much. Also love the writing style I will give you a follow. I actually started a movie blog myself for college and I am graded on interaction such as comments, likes and follows so would really appreciate if you would stop by. Thanks!
    moviemeal.wordpress.com

    Like

Leave a Reply

