Perfect Sense (2011) – Should I Watch It?

Intro to… Perfect Sense
It’s the END of the world!!! Let’s date.

The Plot
The world is struck with an unidentifiable global epidemic that is attacking and destroying our sense of smell. And seems to be targeting our other major senses next. Epidemiologist Susan (Eva Green) stands helpless while the disease unleashes itself upon the world.

During this troubling time she meets Michael (Ewan McGregor), a chef at the restaurant across her apartment. They fall for each other, and while humanity loses their senses, their sense for each other grows stronger every day.

Should I Watch It?
Perfect Sense is a romantic drama primarily shot in Glasgow, Scotland. It stars Eva Green and Ewan McGregor in a short but lovely story about how love, even during the hardest times, is the most important thing off all.

Just a fair warning, the story is kind of sappy. Two damaged people find acceptance and warmth in each other’s presence, something they had not felt in a long time. I was not blown away by the romance in this movie. There were some cute moments here and there, but the severity of their relationship was mostly depicted by how much time they spent together in bed. If McGregor did not explicitly say how he felt about her, they might as well been friends with benefits.

But Perfect Sense is not just a love story. The romance is only one of its two major themes. The other is the huge threat of a global epidemic that seems to affect every human on the planet. And I really liked the way this was shown. There was a lot of emotion and the movie did a great job showing how humans would adapt to try and live a normal life.

The acting is fine and the music is fitting, but the cinematography has its ups and downs. Some of the set design and the shots of it are really great, yet at other times it looks likes scenes were shot with a GoPro attached to a bicycle, which leaves us with a very shaky close-up of McGregor at moments where shaky cam is absolutely unnecessary. And that annoys me.

Overall, I enjoyed Perfect Sense. The love story was not particularly inspiring, but it was not bad either. Its strength lies in its impressive way of enacting the occurrence, consequence, and acceptance of a sudden loss of one or multiple major senses. It is not a movie that will still an urge for romance, but it is a decent dramatic science fiction flick.

Yes, watch it.

Hi guys, I hope you enjoyed reading this review. If you have any comments or suggestions on what I should watch next let me know in the comment section below.

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

5 responses to “Perfect Sense (2011) – Should I Watch It?”

  1. Morgan Mills says :

    The ending of this movie hit me so hard, and me and Matt often bring it up in conversation. I can’t even imagine what the world must have been like afterwards.
    I never really considered it a romance, although I guess it really is. I get too caught up in the tense end of the world stuff!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Remco says :

      Yeah, me too. The movie occasionally reminds the viewer that it is a romance, but what I really experienced was the loss of senses and the feeling of hopelessness that must have followed.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. vinnieh says :

    I’d never heard of this movie until now, but that premise interests me. Excellently written review.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

