No Escape (2015) – Should I Watch It?

Intro to… No Escape
An American family must flee from a violent uprising in an unnamed Asian country where people speak Thai, write in Thai and upside down Cambodian, and borders Vietnam.

The Plot
Family man Jack Dwyer (Owen Wilson) accepts a job in South-East Asia when his own company fails to break ground. To stay together, he and his family, consisting of his wife Annie (Lake Bell), and his two young daughters Lucy (Sterling Jernis) and Beeze (Claire Geare), make the big move. Their timing proves to be poor. Not long after they arrive a vicious coupe takes place and as a result the family must run from hundreds of armed and violent rebels out for blood.

Should I Watch It?
No Escape is an action-packed thriller about a dad with no combat or survival training trying to protect his family from a group of bloodthirsty insurgents. He is way over his head and completely out of his element. And danger lurks around every corner.

It sounds very exiting, and to the movie’s credit, it is. The strongest quality of this movie is its ability to establish and maintain tension throughout the entirety of it. The story is pretty similar to a zombie-apocalypse movie, only instead of being preyed upon by the walking dead, they are hunted down by a gun wielding, tank driving, helicopter flying militia. Which, in a way, is even scarier.

The acting within the movie is fine. The relationship between Wilson and Bell starts of weak, but as the story progresses, so does their acting. It is nice to see Wilson in something else than a comedy. He has a rather soft appearance, which makes him perfect for the role of a clueless yet determined dad trying to get out of a desperate scenario. The kid actors were kid actors; their role is not to stand out as characters, but to add another dimension of tension by giving Jack and Annie another thing to worry about, one besides the angry crowd that is trying to murder them.

There were a few things I did not like about the movie, but most of them are relatively minor. The one I do want to address is a little thing I like to call Brosnan Ex Machina. It gets quickly established that Pierce Brosnan’s character shows up whenever the family is in a pinch. And it does not take long for you to expect him to show up whenever he is needed, which often is the case. This would normally take me out of the movie, but he is more of a helper than an insta-fix and the danger still feels present, so I was not bothered by it too much, but I do wish he was utilised somewhat more interestingly. Especially since his character is the most interesting one of the movie.

No Escape has entered and left theatres surprisingly unnoticed. It has a gripping and engaging story. It can be a bit rough and uncomfortable, but that only adds to the tension the movie is aiming for. There has been a bit of controversy regarding how the Asian people get depicted, but it is pretty much similar to how Russians and East Germans get displayed when they are shown as the bad guys. Overall I would recommend it.

Yes, watch it.

Hi guys, I hope you enjoyed reading this review. If you have any comments or suggestions on what I should watch next let me know in the comment section below.

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

9 responses to “No Escape (2015) – Should I Watch It?”

  1. Morgan Mills says :

    I’ve been meaning to catch this but just missed it at the cinema. The tension in the trailer almost had me in tears! Such a frightening concept.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Remco says :

      The writers and directors of this movie have predominately made horror movies, and you definitely notice that in regards to creating and maintaining high levels of tension.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. bobmann447 says :

    Glad to find someone else who really liked this film, as I rated it also as an action thriller, though I saw it on one reviewers list of the “Worse of 2015”, so it clearly divides audiences! My review was here : http://bob-the-movie-man.com/2015/09/09/one-manns-movies-film-review-no-escape/

    Liked by 1 person

  3. rlterry1 says :

    I did not particularly care for the movie at all; however, you make some good points and give me elements to think about. It was an interesting experience watching this movie with my roommate who is a Russian-Asian. He said the film hit too close to home because he grew up in a village where there were wars and battles like the one depicted in the film. So, the film must have beeb very accurate in its portrayal of the mob-like behaviors.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Remco says :

      That’s actually new to me. I lived in Bangkok during the protests of the “red party” and in my experience these were fully focused against the government, and often violence free. I even talked to some at their base of operations when I accidentally stumbled upon it. So I felt that the mob-like behaviour was the most fictional element of the movie.

      Liked by 1 person

  4. Charley says :

    For me, this is one of the best movies I’ve seen for maintaining tension throughout. And as for Owen Wilson – faultless. Wish he’d do more serious roles.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Remco says :

      Yeah, I wasn’t surprised to find that the directors of this movie generally dabble in the horror scene. The tension this movie hold was amazing. And Wilson was surprisingly great. This movie made me see him in a completely different light as an actor.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

