Top 11: Best Movies Of 2015

The year is coming to a close and I cannot help but look back to the movies that have passed these eyes of mine this past year. Nostalgia has been a major theme this year. Several franchises, originating from different times, gained the opportunity to strut their stuff on the big screen once again. Some reprised, or even elevated, their past glory, others not so much. Fortunately, this year has also has seen some great original movies pass through our local cinemas. But which ones were the best? This is my take on the Top 11: Best Movies of 2015.

Before we start I would like to remind everyone that this is a subjective list on my experiences this past year. I have not seen every movie that came out, nor is my opinion fact. Also, please understand that my country of origin is not America and this list will only involve movies that have had a 2015 release within The Netherlands. Movies like The Revenant and The Hateful Eight, good as they may be, will be taken into consideration in 2016. Now, without further ado, let us kick off with…

Nr. 11: Furious 7
I was surprised how much I liked this movie. I enjoy The Fast and The Furious movies, but never to the point that I would actually consider them to be good. This is. It brings back all the regulars, has a butt ton of action, Jason Statham is the toughest and coolest villain this series has ever had, the unfortunate loss of Paul Walker gets treated respectfully and tastefully, and, most of all, it actually makes me look forward to part 8.

Nr. 10: Selma
The story of Martin Luther King and his fight against segregation in America is known throughout the world. “I have a dream” has become one of the strongest, and most resounding, slogans in the fight against racism. This movie focuses on King’s second world changing milestone, his campaign to obtain unrestricted voting rights for African Americans. It has some serious pacing issues in the beginning of the movie, it would have been higher up the list if it did not, but it is still a strong entry and inspiring film.

Nr. 09: Avengers: Age of Ultron
I am aware that I am in the minority of people that prefer Age of Ultron to its predecessor. And there are plenty of things that were wrong with it. But it still gives us some of our favourite superheroes duking it out with a menacing villain. A villain that arguably carries the awesomest voice ever, the voice of James Spader. As far as superheroes movie go, this one is top tier.

Nr. 08: Jurassic World
Now, I am very biased when it comes to Jurassic World. I absolutely love Jurassic Park, it is one of my favourite movies ever. When I was a kid I couldn’t imagine anything cooler than dinosaurs. And this movie brought me back to that time. Objectively, it is a decent movie, nothing great or special, just decent. But the way it talks and plays to my inner kid, I cannot help but enjoy this movie

Nr. 07: The Final Girls
I watched this movie on a whim and was pretty much blown away by it; it was so unexpectedly fun. A 80s slasher spoof full of heart, a love letter to the genre. It’s a relatively small movie with a simple and unique plot. The Final Girls is guaranteed to obtain a cult following.

Nr. 06: Kingsman: The Secret Service
Another big surprise. The trailer was a bit tame and I did not know what to expect. Turns out to be a kickass spy movie with some of the greatest fight scenes ever. It is classy, it is funny, and brings something really refreshing to an age-old genre.

Nr. 05: Bridge of Spies
Directed by Steven Spielberg? “Okay, I am interested.” Based on a real story? “Getting psyched!” Starring Tom Hanks? “Awh, yeah. This is going to be awesome!” And it was. The story of James B. Donovan is engaging and captivating. It is a tribute to the actions of a great man that has unfortunately been forgotten by the general public.

Nr. 04: Star Wars: The Force Awakens
It might not be the best movie of 2015, but it is definitely the most rewatchable movie of 2015. The Force Awakens brings us an exciting space adventure that holds true to the original trilogy. It has a fun and action-packed story, interesting new characters, and sets the stage for the new trilogy. Man, am I going to watch this movie a lot!

Nr. 03: Ex Machina
A movie about an A.I. that is not simply about taking over the Internet and wiping out humanity. Skynet will not be found here. Instead, it asks the question how you can differentiate between a human mind and an artificial intelligence, or more specific, when can you not. Alicia Vikander, Oscar Isaac, and Domhnall Gleeson are taking Hollywood by storm, and in this movie they sure demonstrate why.

Nr. 02: The Martian
Matt Damon’s best performance ever. The Martian takes the concept of someone stranded on an island and turns it to eleven by leaving a person stranded on Mars, an environment immeasurably crueller than Earth. Astronaut Mark Watney has to, and I quote, science the shit out of this, to stay alive until someone comes to rescue him. If one comes at all.

Nr. 01: Mad Max: Fury Road
When this movie came out in May it became immediately apparent that it would require something really special to topple this from first place. Every time I saw the trailer of this movie and the words “From the Master Mind of George Miller” showed up, I thought that these were some pretty cocky words from the director of Babe: Pig in the City and Happy Feet. But they rang true. Fury Road is one big testosterone filled spectacle. Charlize Theron absolutely kills it as Furiosa and the movie, essentially one big chase scene, drags you in and doesn’t let you go until after the big finale. It is the best movie of 2015.

Do you agree with these entries? Am I completely out of my mind? Share your thoughts in the comment box below.

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , ,

5 responses to “Top 11: Best Movies Of 2015”

  1. alexdneagoe says :

    I’ve only seen three of these movies. Maybe I should get on with the times. Haha

    Liked by 1 person

  2. bobmann447 says :

    Certainly agree with your top 5 (which are also in my top ten)… and Selma and Kingsmen were certainly bubbling under on my chart.

    Like

    • Remco says :

      If I am being honest, picking the top 5 was easy. The others weren’t. This has been a good year for making money on cinema, but I don’t really feel it has been a good year for visiting the cinema. There were only few movies that actually wowed me. Plenty of movies that entertain, but not that many that stood out.

      Like

Leave a Reply

