Under The Skin – Should I Watch It?

Intro to… Under The Skin
A super hot girl in a van awkwardly seduces lonely men.

The Plot
A nameless girl played by Scarlett Johansson dons the clothes of a seemingly incapacitated woman. She travels through Scotland in her van and picks up lonely strangers and takes them to her house. The thing is, they never leave.

Should I Watch It?
I am not a fan of abstract art. I have never seen the appeal, and my dislike for it only grew when I took my dad for his birthday on a cruise to Newcastle and we found ourselves wandering through the halls of the BALTIC Centre for Contemporary Art. It took many pints in a nearby pub for us to recover from that travesty. This movie made me relive all of it.

Under The Skin is a sci-fi horror movie about a woman that seduces and, presumably, murders lonely men. Nothing is explained and the only dialogue is small talk delivered in a nearly incomprehensible dialect.

Though I like my big budget Hollywood blockbusters, I also see the appeal of arthouse movies. There is much more creative freedom for directors, cinematographers, and actors. They can, and often do, go anywhere. An arthouse movie I, for instance, really like is The Fall. A movie where the stories shared by a man and a little girl come to life. It is creative, unique, and surprising. Under The Skin could have also chosen this direction, but even without context and dialogue this movie remains predictable until the very end.

But it is not all bad. The acting of Scarlett Johansson is spectacular. They say that eyes are the windows to the soul, but what if you do not have one? No matter how beautiful she looks, Johansson’s eyes remain frighteningly cold. Her demeanour, normally pragmatic and robotic, changes instantly around possible victims. She really makes the audience believe that she is a predator on the prowl.

But one incredibly performance is not enough to save an entire movie. Under The Skin is only for people that can truly appreciate modern art. Everyone else should avoid it as if it were the BALTIC Centre for Contemporary Art, or the plague.

No, don’t watch it.

Hi guys, I hope you enjoyed reading this review. If you have any comments or suggestions on what I should watch next let me know in the comment section below.

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

