2001: A Space Odyssey – Throwback Thursday

Intro to… 2001: A Space Odyssey
A monkey fearfully touching a stone culminates into a grand space adventure.

The Plot
A curious anomaly led scientists to discover an ancient monolith beneath the surface of the moon. Its origins are nearly guaranteed alien so it gets studied in great detail. This does not go without incident, but eventually progress gets made. They discover that the monolith is linked to a similar relic orbiting Jupiter.

A space exploration to retrieve the artefact gets organised. The team consists of five astronauts, of whom three are in cryogenic hibernation, and the HAL 9000, a super advanced artificial intelligence. Things go well until HAL starts to believe that the one thing that could endanger this mission is human error. So he tries to get rid of the threat.

Should I Watch It?
2001: A Space Odyssey is considered one of the big sci-fi classics due to its scientifically accurate portrayal of space travel, the grand philosophical themes, and the iconic directing style of Stanley Kubrick. It was released back in 1968, but you would not be able to tell from its visuals. It looks absolutely spectacular.

A big topic within the story is human evolution. It starts with a twenty-minute short story about our ape ancestors, followed by us present day homo sapiens, and finally a suggestion that a more evolved form of the human species is about to emerge. Also, I guess that in a sense the existence of a true A.I. could also be considered (human) evolution in some manner.

Kubrick has a reputation for shooting an absurd amount of takes, so it will come as no surprise that the movie looks stunning and that the acting is of a very high calibre. Every location has a high level of detail, and the music accompanies every scene flawlessly. It is odd that such a well-written, well-executed, and well-acted film can be so incredibly boring.

When 2001: A Space Odyssey began I did not think I was going to like it. The first part is just people jumping around in ape costumes. An hour later I still did not like it, it was visually impressive but the events were going too slow and I got kind of bored. When the movie ended, I still did not like it. The movie never sped up, not much happened, and I am not a fan of the visual conclusion. But here I am, a couple of hours have later, fully recommending it.

I am not sure what changed these last couple of hours, but this movie is a bit like expensive wine. It needs time to breath, and if you have the patience to let it you will be rewarded with a stronger and more delicious flavour. It was torture to sit through, but I am happy I did.

Yes, watch it.

Hi guys, I hope you enjoyed reading this review. If you have any comments or suggestions on what I should watch next let me know in the comment section below.

Tags: , , , , , , ,

6 responses to “2001: A Space Odyssey – Throwback Thursday”

  1. Matthew Wright says :

    This is one of my all time favourite sf movies.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Remco says :

      It’s pretty weird I had not seen this movie before considering its reputation among movie fans.

      Liked by 1 person

      • Matthew Wright says :

        It was high art in every sense. Curiously, I was introduced (as a kid) to Fred Ordway, who was one of the science advisors on the film.

        Liked by 1 person

        • Remco says :

          Wow, It would be pretty cool to be associated with such an interesting film.

          My personal favourite film is Luc Besson’s Léon. When people ask me why, I generally say that to me Léon is more than a movie, it’s an experience. The difference with 2001 is that with Léon you still realise this is a movie, whereas I never had that feeling with 2001 – it is purely an experience. I did not know what I was watching, I just knew I did not like it. But then time passed after watching the more the movie and it forced me to think about it and the themes it addressed, and I quickly grew to respect it. It was a very quaint experience.

          Like

  2. 5 Star Kevin says :

    I like this movie all the way up until the end.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

