The Hunger Games – Should I Watch It?

Intro to… The Hunger Games
A cruel and sadistic government forces 24 children to fight to the death. If that was not sick enough, they also broadcast it on TV. Reality TV just got real.

The Plot
In a futuristic dystopian world North America has been divided into 14 provinces under the collective name of Panem. The province in charge is called The Capitol, whereas the other provinces are simply known as numbered districts.

Seventy-four years prior to the events in this story the districts rebelled but were stricken down by The Capitol. In penance for their uprising District 13 got annihilated, and an annual pageant where a boy and girl from each district are selected for an all-or-nothing death match was established.

Enter Katniss Everdeen (Jennifer Lawrence), a hunter from District 12. When her younger sister gets selected to be a tribute she volunteers to take her place as a representative for their district. She shares this burden with Peeta Mellark (Josh Hutcherson). Together they travel to The Capitol to face their near-certain death.

Should I Watch It?
The Hunger Games delivered to young adults what the previous YA hit, the Twilight Series, sorely lacked: a strong leading lady. Katniss is strong, decisive, and is as likeable as she claims not to be.

The concept of a battle royale in a movie has been done before, but The Hunger Games brings enough to the table to keep it fresh and interesting. There is a lot going on in the background, but unfortunately showing this is not one the movie’s strong points. A lot of context is lost during the from-book-to-film translation. This may leave viewers confused on why something occur.

The acting is all over the place. There seems to be little to no chemistry between Lawrence and Hutcherson. Their blossoming fake-romance is more fake than romantic. Fortunately we see a great over-the-top appearance of Stanley Tucci as game host Caesar Flickerman, and Lenny Kravitz does a good job portraying fan-favourite fashion designer Cinna.

I remember watching this movie at the cinema and leaving dissatisfied. Yet also strangely intrigued. The story felt incomplete, as if relevant parts were somehow cut or withheld. My curiosity got the better of me and I eventually bought the books. And that is why I will recommend this movie. Not because I find the movie to be particularly good, but because it still convinced me to want to know more about it. And that is some powerful storytelling on its own.

Yes, watch it.

Hi everyone, I hope you enjoyed reading this review. If you have any comments on this movie or suggestions for future reviews please let me know via the comment section below. Until next time!

Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

3 responses to “The Hunger Games – Should I Watch It?”

  1. alexdneagoe says :

    I read the books and I saw the films and honestly the second one was the one closest to the books and the one I liked the most. The third one was quite awful. However, I am looking forward to the last part. Hopefully it will do justice to the book.

    Liked by 1 person

    • ressivocmer says :

      I think the third one was really all about expectations. After watching the first movie I read all three books so when I heard they were going to split-up Mockingjay I really did not expect anything but dialogue and the bare minimum of action moments. I thought it was okay for what it was.

      I do think it was a mistake to make a Part 1 & 2. People who have read the books knew not much was going to happen. People who did not read the books were just going to be bored while they were waiting for Katniss to end up in some kind of life-or-death scenario.

      Regardless, I do look forward to Part 2 and hope they stay in line with the books. There are some awesome moments in it!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

